Agents and Editing

On making comparisons when you shouldn’t.

I wish there was a way I could peek over the shoulders of other writers about to query agents to see the state of their manuscripts. I know, I know, comparisons aren’t useful to anyone. But I keep reading over and over that what you send to an agent should be your best work, and at this point I feel like if I don’t just take the leap and do it, I’ll never be completely satisfied with my novel. It will never be as polished and perfect as I want it to be. It doesn’t help that I’m pretty sure only one of the four people I’ve given my manuscript to for them to beta read is actually reading it. Bah. I think after I do one last run through of the manuscript, it will be time to start approaching agents. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Agents and Editing”

  1. Good luck with it! I’m at the submitting/rejections stage (one agent has asked for full MS and has it at present) – what I would say is be prepared for the waiting game – it takes a lot longer than you’d hope! Hope you get good news really soon and congratulations on completing the novel.

    Like

  2. This is EXACTLY where I’m at right now, and it’s scary. Falling into the trap of revising and revising is safer, almost, because you can’t possibly fail if you never submit. I came to this same realization earlier this spring–that I have to query my MS and see what happens or I’ll just keep failing to meet my own (unachievable) standards.

    Best of luck when you do start querying, in any case. I’ll be rooting for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

