I’ve been rejected by the lit mag Hermeneutic Chaos

On getting a short fiction story rejected by Hermeneutic Chaos.

And it’s quite possibly the nicest rejection I’ve ever received ever.

Check it out:

Dear K,
Thank you so much for submitting to Hermeneutic Chaos Literary Journal. We feel grateful and humbled for having been given the opportunity to consider your work. It was an absolute pleasure reading ‘Flight” and appreciating the wonderful language and emotions at play. It, however, is different from what we are looking for, and this does not allow us to include it at this point of time. We are confident that it will find a better home elsewhere. But we request you to submit to us again in future.

Warmest Regards,
Shinjini Bhattacharjee
Editor-in-Chief

Look at that!! Are you looking?!

They gave my story major compliments, a decent reason why it couldn’t be accepted, they suggested that it is publish-worthy, and they want me to submit to them again! It’s a rejection, but it’s a really wonderful confidence boost. It also took them less than 24 hours to get back to me. I’d highly recommend submitting to them as I definitely will be again in the future. The story which I submitted to them I have also submitted to a different magazine, so there is still hope for it!

As for my other submissions, I was sad to learn that my favourite lit mag, Lost in Thought, is currently on hiatus. I somehow missed this on the website and sent them a story, but Robert Vaughn (the fiction editor) responded almost instantly and was very kind to let me know. He says there is a chance it may come back, but as it stands he and the other editor are simply just too busy right now to keep it running.

I also have two stories that have had status changes on Submittable. They’ve changed from “Recieved” to “In-Progess” meaning that it is likely that at this very second they are arguing over the flaws and attributes of my work. *pukes*

4 thoughts on “I’ve been rejected by the lit mag Hermeneutic Chaos”

    1. Thank you! I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy about getting rejected before. What a strange thing to say haha. I certainly have some nightmarish rejections in my folder as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

