Working Toward the Write Place

Captain’s log, stardate 3/24/2015…

Okay, that’s enough nerding out.

The purpose of this post is to inform all you lovely people where I’m at in my writing career. As I said in the introduction, I am almost done my BA in English lit. I’ve participated in one creative non-fiction course, one script writing course, and two creative fiction courses. I’ll talk more about these workshops later. For now, it’s time for me to indulge in my narcissistic tendencies and talk about myself (yay!).

What I’ve Published so Far

Nothing. Well, okay, that’s not exactly true.

I’ve written a few articles for my school newspaper, the Reflector. Not exactly a huge accomplishment, but it was the first time I ever saw my writing in print and that was pretty darn cool. If you want to know how many butt plugs out of five I gave the 50 Shades of Grey movie, you can find my most recent Reflector article here.

I also wrote a 500 word essay for Maclean’s magazine this year and got paid 75 whole dollars for it! This was the first time I’ve ever been paid for my writing, and I have to say, it felt pretty spiffy. I haven’t counted it as a publishing credit yet because it hasn’t come out. It’s supposed to hit shelves at the end of this month or the beginning of the next in the University Insider report.  However, I can’t say that I got this gig through nothing but hard work and determination; in all honesty, it was simply luck. The boyfriend of a girl I befriended at school works for Maclean’s. He needed an article writer and I suppose that I was such a raving loony about writing that she thought of me when the job came up (thank you Rachel!). BAM…I was $75 richer and will one of these days officially be a published writer!

My third success (kind of) is a story called “Treasures” which according to Submittable, has been accepted by the Write Room (look another pun!), an online lit magazine. “Treasures” is a short fiction story about time travel and it was seven months before its status changed. When I got the email that my submission status changed to accepted I almost threw up I was so excited. However, that happened about a month ago and the magazine has made no contact with me. I’ve contacted them via facebook and submittable, but I have received nothing back. I’ve come to the point of accepting that perhaps the status change was an error, if anything just to avoid driving myself insane. I can’t avoid being hopeful that this is not the case, but only time will tell…In the meantime, I have continued to write and send out stories!

And that’s it! These are my few accolades, but I am proud of each one whether it came about by luck, or didn’t actually come about at all. The same goes for my file folder which is packed with rejection slips. It’s all one step closer to becoming a successful writer.

What I’m Working on Now

A novel which is currently 119 pages in 12 point font on my computer. That’s about 50,000 words! Thanks to Meg Cabot and this post, I finally know how the number of words on computer paper will translate into a published book. I know, I know, quality over quantity, but I can’t stop myself from swelling with joy every time I reach a new page. When I get to cutting things out during the editing process, it will be painful.

My manuscript is a ghost story which I refer to as Joe and she prefers female pronouns. I was struggling to pick which genre to place her in for a while; I wanted her to be an adult book, but my protagonist is in high school which gives it a YA feel. Thanks to a wonderful professor who has also offered to help me with editing over summer, I can now clasify her as Cusp literature (YA books that can also be enjoyed by adults).

I am almost done part one of three and I will finish writing her this year!

 

Where have you been published? What are you working on right now? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Working Toward the Write Place”

  1. “…. my file folder which is packed with rejection slips. It’s all one step closer to becoming a successful writer.” Now aint that the truth? You’re absolutely right: the only way past, is through. And that means you write, write and….write; irrespective of the bumps along the way. I wish you success with your writing career – to create is to give life, and that is the greatest gift of all. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

